AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship

$3,500Award Amount
1Number of Awards
3/1/2023Submission Deadline

Explore Similar Scholarships

College Major:

The American Welding Society (AWS) is a not-for-profit charitable organization. It was established in 1919 with the mission of “advancing the science, technology, and application of welding and allied joining and cutting processes worldwide, including brazing, soldering, and thermal spraying.” The foundation funds and supports educational and research opportunities to further the growth and development of the welding industry.

John Cromwell Lincoln was an inventor, philanthropist, and entrepreneur. He was a Vice-presidential candidate during the 1924 US elections and he founded The Lincoln Electric Company in 1895. Mr. Lincoln was admired by many young people in the field of arc welding for his moral character, thirst for knowledge, and commitment to manufacturing excellence.

The AWS created a scholarship program in honor of John C. Lincoln. Every year, one undergraduate student pursuing a four years or more bachelor’s degree program in welding engineering or welding engineering technology will be awarded the $3,500 John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship. Preference will be given to students from or studying in Ohio or Arizona.

Key Information of AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship

Study Details

Area of Study


Country of Study

United States

Specific Schools


Scholarship Details

Intended Level of Study


Award Amount


Number of Awards


AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship Timeline

December 2022

Application Opening Date

Applications open on December 1.

March 2023

Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is on March 1.

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the following criteria.

  • Eligible Grade: High School Graduate – Undergraduate
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Required GPA: 2.5
  • Geographic Eligibility: Arizona, Ohio, United States
  • Gender: Any
  • Race/Ethnicity: Any

Application Requirements

Here’s what you need to submits besides your application.

  • Short Answers
  • Financial Information
  • Grade transcript

How to ace the AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship


Apply early

Submit your application as early as possible. Thousands of students will be applying for the scholarship, and the deadline will not be extended. Process and submit your application on time to avoid being disqualified.


Fill out the correct information

Before submitting your application, go over your details, contact information, addresses, and such. Ensure you have the correct information filled out.


Submit a recent transcript

Submit a transcript that shows your recent grades and credits. Make sure your transcript shows grades in subjects that relate to welding engineering or physical sciences.


Reach out to previous recipients

If you can, contact students who have been recipients of the scholarship in previous years. Ask them for tips on your application. Otherwise, reach out to personnel at the AWS foundation for more information.

How the AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship is Judged

The scholarship will be awarded to a student who shows financial need. During the selection process, students who are pursuing a degree in welding engineering will be prioritized over welding engineering technology students.

Why We Love the AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship


Part-time students may apply

Students enrolled for part-time study at a university may also apply for the scholarship.


The scholarship is renewable

Past applicants may reapply for this scholarship and be granted the award for up to four years.


Non-members may apply

Students do not need to join the American Welding Society to be eligible to apply for this scholarship. Non-members can apply.

5 Facts About AWS John C. Lincoln Memorial Scholarship


Awards are paid to the recipient's institution

No funds will be paid directly to the scholarship recipient, rather the full amount will be paid on behalf of the recipient to their college or university.


Selection committee members are formally chosen

The recipient of the award will be determined by the Named Selection Committee, which comprises five members who are formally chosen by the National Educational Scholarship Committee.


Arizona and Ohio residents are preferred

Applications from individuals residing or studying in Ohio and Arizona will be prioritized.


The foundation awards international scholarships

The AWS foundation awards scholarships to students outside the United States to pursue full-time undergraduate or graduate studies in joining sciences at a higher institution located in any country of the recipient's choice.


AWS Foundation awards $2 million in scholarships

The American Welding Society Foundation awards up to $2 million in scholarships and grants to students in the field of welding engineering.

InspirASIAN Scholarship Program

The InspirASIAN Scholarship Program awards $2,000 to qualifying high school senior and graduate students and undergraduate student in one of 18 states of InspirASIAN Chapter to complete their degrees.

Scholarships awarded
28 winners
Required GPA
January 31
Winner announcement
May, 2022

Greater Boston PFLAG Scholarship

The Scholarship awards $5,000 to a high school graduating senior pursuing a two- or four-year college or university degree program of their choice. The scholarship program is renewable.

Scholarships awarded
2 winners
Required GPA
January 31
Winner announcement
April 2023