WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship

$1,000Award Amount
25Number of Awards
4/2/2023Submission Deadline

Explore Similar Scholarships


Grade Level:

The WRA Education Foundation, a non-profit organization, was established in 1987 to promote and support the food service industry through educational opportunities, scholarships, and community involvement. The foundation is one of the nation’s largest state restaurant associations.

The foundation funds the WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship, which awards 25 $1,000 scholarships to students pursuing programs in the restaurant and hospitality industries such as culinary, baking, hospitality, food science, and family and consumer science education.

To be eligible for this scholarship, applicants must be Wisconsin residents. The scholarship award is paid to the school in two-semester installments, and the scholarship funds may be used for tuition and expenses for the student.

Key Information of WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship

Study Details

Area of Study

  • Baking
  • Consumer Science
  • Culinary
  • Culinary Arts
  • Food Science
  • Hospitality

Country of Study

United States

Specific Schools


Scholarship Details

Intended Level of Study


Award Amount


Number of Awards


WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship Timeline

January 2023

Application Opening Date

Applications open on January 1.

April 2023

Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is on April 2.

June 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced in June.

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the following criteria.

  • Eligible Grade: High School Senior – Undergraduate
  • Maximum Age: Any
  • Required GPA: Any
  • Geographic Eligibility: Wisconsin
  • Gender: Any
  • Race/Ethnicity: Any

Application Requirements

Here’s what you need to submits besides your application.

  • Grade transcript
  • Recommendation letters
  • School Verification

How to ace the WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship


Be an outstanding academic

The application form includes sections for you to fill out about your academic experience and achievements. It is therefore important that you have impressive academic achievements that you can list in order to show that you are a qualified scholarship candidate.


Have quality hospitality or food service experience

On the online application form, applicants can list their work experience in the food service or hospitality industry. We recommend that you show your experience in food service and hospitality because it will help prove your genuine interest in this field.


Show your passion

Why do you want to work in the food service or hospitality industry? Have compelling reasons as to why you want to work in this field because these reasons may help convince the foundation’s judges to award you the scholarship.


Get a good referee

You will be required to submit a recommendation letter written by an employer or educator who knows your character. It is important that you get a referee who knows your character capabilities well to vouch for you.

How the WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship is Judged

Applicants will be evaluated based on their academic performance, work experience in food service or hospitality, character, and essay. To be eligible, applicants must be Wisconsin residents pursuing a course in food service or hospital administration.

Why We Love the WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship


No discrimination

The program is open to all Wisconsin students as long as they meet the scholarship requirements. The foundation supports equality and has no discrimination against gender, race, ethnicity, religion, etc.


Unofficial transcripts are accepted

This program allows applicants to submit unofficial transcripts along with their application to simplify the process.


Chances of winning are high

The program awards 25 students annually making your chances of winning high as long as all requirements are met.

5 Facts About WRA EF Culinary and Hospitality Scholarship


Enrolment eligibility

Students enrolled with a minimum of six credits for an academic year can still apply.


Annual reception to celebrate winners

Every year, the foundation hosts a reception to celebrate its winners with a minimum fee.


Failure to attend means forfeit

If you do not attend school for both semesters, you will forfeit any unpaid portion of the scholarship.


Funded through donation and grants

The WRA Education Foundation has no dues-paying members and is entirely funded by donations, grants, program underwriting, and program revenue.


Scholarship is funded through the Endowment Fund

The scholarship is funded by the Foundation's Endowment Fund, which allows any individual or entity to donate to help fund scholarships.

CEMS Fund Scholarship

The Cynthia E. Morgan Memorial Fund Scholarship is offered to one student in Maryland to pursue or is presently pursuing, a medical-related course at an institution within the state.

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
February 25

Douvas Scholarship

Wyoming Department of Education offers the Douvas Scholarship of $500 to first-generation American high school students in Wyoming to pursue an undergraduate degree program

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
April 30
Winner announcement
August 2022