Porter Fleming Literary Competition

$250–$1,000Award Amount
12Number of Awards
2/13/2023Submission Deadline

The Porter Fleming Literary Competition is held in memory of Porter Fleming and organized by the Morris Museum of Art. The competition acknowledges outstanding fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and one-act playwriting by granting a total of $7,000 to 12 deserving writers. To enter the competition, one has to submit a copy of their work with an entry fee of $15.

Writers 18 years or older who reside in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, or Tennessee are eligible to apply. Fiction and nonfiction applications must not exceed 2,500 words, and one-act play submissions must be in a professional format that is no longer than fifteen pages and double spaced. Applicants who submit poetry can include up to three poems that do not exceed five pages.

By entering, winners of the competition grant Morris Museum of Art permission to publish or produce readings of the work in relation to the competition or awards ceremony. All work submitted must be original and have not been published by any institution before entering the competition. All entries must submit two copies of each entry and be mailed to Morris Museum of Art 1 Tenth Street, Augusta, GA 30901.

Key Information of Porter Fleming Literary Competition

Study Details

Area of Study


Country of Study

United States

Specific Schools


Scholarship Details

Intended Level of Study

  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate

Award Amount


Number of Awards


Porter Fleming Literary Competition Timeline

August 2022

Application Opening Date

Applications open in August.

February 2023

Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is on February 13.

April 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners of the competition are announced in April.

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the following criteria.

  • Eligible Grade: All
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Required GPA: Any
  • Geographic Eligibility: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
  • Gender: Any
  • Race/Ethnicity: Any

Application Requirements

Here’s what you need to submits besides your application.

  • Essay

How to ace the Porter Fleming Literary Competition


Read through the submission guidelines carefully

All submissions that do not meet the competition guidelines will be disqualified from the competition. Ensure all guidelines are met, including format, payment methods, and entry form details.


Receive peer reviews of your work

Before submitting, ask lecturers and fellow writers to review your work. Receiving peer reviews will provide you with critical feedback and allow you to present the best work possible. Peer reviews are crucial for all writers, novice and professional, as essential critiques of your work.


Include your email address in your submission

This is not necessary for the competition; however, it does mean Morris Museum of Art will notify you when they receive your application. This will make the application process stress free and prevent any miscommunication.


Submit your best body of work

The competition judges applicants of a specific category with another, meaning only nonfiction submissions will be judged in comparison to other nonfiction submissions. If you create work in more than one category, choose the best quality of work possible. This is where peer reviews become helpful in selecting exemplary work to submit.

How the Porter Fleming Literary Competition is Judged

The competition is purely judged on the quality of work submitted by applicants. First, second, and third place awards are granted to each writing category, that being fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and one-act plays. Fiction and nonfiction writing must not exceed 2,500 words and all works must include a title. Up to three poems can be submitted for poetry-based applications and must not exceed five pages. One-act plays must be presented in a professional format and are limited to fifteen pages, double spaced.

Why We Love the Porter Fleming Literary Competition


The competition hosts an awards ceremony

The Morris Museum of Art hosts an awarding ceremony in recognition of all competition winners. If winners cannot attend the ceremony, their prizes will be mailed to them the following week.


Winners can take part in a literary program

Winners are granted the chance to participate in a unique literary program hosted by the Morris Museum of Art and sponsored by the Porter Fleming Foundation.


Winners are given national recognition

Winners of the competition will have their works published by the Morris Museum of Art, granting all awardees national recognition for their outstanding work.

5 Facts About Porter Fleming Literary Competition


2023 is 29th year of the competition

The Morris Museum of Art was established in 1985, and 2023 is the 29th year in a row that the institution has supported the Porter Fleming Literary Competition.


The institution provides free Sunday walkabouts

As a part of the Morris Museum of Arts' effort to make art accessible to the public, it opens its doors for free every Sunday from 12:00 P.M. until 5:00 P.M.


A library is provided to the public

The Morris Museum of Art provides the Center for the Study of Southern Art, a comprehensive reference library for anyone interested in Southeastern U.S.-based art.


The institution provides learning programs

As a part of the institution's effort to educate all people, the Morris Museum of Art hosts learning programs for all ages, from kids and families to teachers and those with special needs.


The institution provides an online catalog

The Morris Museum of Art provides an online catalog of all permanent works owned by the institution, providing global recognition of the artists.

Jim Sanders Media and Leadership Scholarship

The Jim Sanders Media and Leadership Scholarship awards $2,500 to a California State University student aspiring to a career in the news media industry.

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
August 31

Gordon Hay Scholarship Fund

It’s awarded to two deserving students with a record of scholarly achievement and commitment to community engagement, intending to pursue a career in community service, visual arts, and performing arts.

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
June 6
Winner announcement
July 1, 2023