CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship

$2,500Award Amount
1Number of Awards
4/18/2023Submission Deadline

Explore Similar Scholarships


Grade Level:

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) in its Connecticut Chapter is promoting the CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship. Its main goal is to help landscape architecture students to continue pursuing their degrees.

Applicants must be living in Connecticut and be enrolled in an accredited landscape architecture program. To apply, students must submit an online or mailed application before the deadline, including a statement, recommendation letters, and grade transcripts. The minimum value of the award is $2,500

CTASLA is an organization with over 200 associates. Its mission is to carry out the Landscape Architecture work in the best way possible, in order to promote local professionals and help in their development. They also hold monthly meetings open to chapter members.

Key Information of CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship

Study Details

Area of Study

Landscape Architecture

Country of Study

United States

Specific Schools


Scholarship Details

Intended Level of Study

  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate

Award Amount


Number of Awards


CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship Timeline

February 2023

Application Opening Date

Applications open on February 1.

April 2023

Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is on April 18.

May 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced on May 16.

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the following criteria.

  • Eligible Grade: Undergraduate – Postgraduate
  • Maximum Age: Any
  • Required GPA: Any
  • Geographic Eligibility: Connecticut
  • Gender: Any
  • Race/Ethnicity: Any

Application Requirements

Here’s what you need to submits besides your application.

  • School Verification
  • Grade transcript
  • Essay
  • Recommendation letters

How to ace the CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship


Start the application process right away

You should start the application process as soon as possible. This will allow you enough time to acquire all necessary documents, contact your referees or recommenders, complete all forms and work on your personal statement. Have everything organized and planned to avoid any last-minute complications.


Choice of references and early notifications

Your references or recommenders must be those who know you well enough to be willing to speak to your abilities and demonstrate why you make the perfect candidate for this scholarship. So, choose them wisely. Also, contact them and send them the required forms very early on to allow them enough time to complete them.


Personal statement objective and review

Your essay is your voice and the complete picture of your character, ambitions, and abilities. Make it concise and interesting – ensure it captures your dedication to the landscape architecture field. Tell the judges your story and what you hope to achieve. Stay focused and get a second or third eye review from your mentor or instructor.


Keep your grades up

Work hard on keeping your grades up and maintaining a solid GPA. Grades will be an indicator of how dedicated and serious you are and it is always best to show academic excellence to stand out amongst the crowd for a better chance of winning.

How the CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship is Judged

Applications are judged based on transcripts, personal statements, and recommendation letters. Winners are chosen given their background, interest in the field, and reputation.

Why We Love the CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship


Focused on high school seniors

This scholarship was made for undergraduate and graduate students, opening up many doors for a strong career path and encouraging students in Connecticut to further their education.


No discrimination

The program is open to all residents of Connecticut as long as they meet the scholarship requirements. CTASLA supports equality and diversity with no discrimination against gender, race, ethnicity, religion, etc.


Dedication to the field

Exclusively made for landscape architectures of tomorrow, the program offers mentorship, and training, and opens many job opportunities for Connecticut young locals who demonstrate academic excellence and interest in the field. This program encourages students to take up landscape architecture.

5 Facts About CTASLA Karen Ann Shopis-Fox Memorial Scholarship


Number of awards varies each year

This scholarship is awarded to more than one winner but the exact number may vary each year depending on funds.


Paid to the university

The award is paid directly to the winner’s institution.


Relatives encouraged to apply

If you’re related to a CTASLA member, you can still apply.


Unsigned statements are disqualified

If your statement isn’t signed, you might be disqualified.


Previous winners can reapply

Previous winners can reapply if they continue to meet the eligibility requirements.

Bob Eddy Scholarship

The Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists offers the Bob Eddy Scholarship to four undergraduate students to complete their studies and pursue a career in journalism in the U.S.

Scholarships awarded
4 winners
Required GPA
April 25

CTASLA Landscape Architecture Environmental Stewardship Scholarship for High School Seniors

The Connecticut association, CTASLA, offers the CTASLA Landscape Architecture Environmental Stewardship Scholarship to six high school seniors who want to pursue a degree in landscape architecture in Connecticut.

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
April 18
Winner announcement
May 16, 2023