Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship

$5,000Award Amount
2Number of Awards
1/31/2023Submission Deadline

Explore Similar Scholarships

College Major:


Grade Level:

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) offers the Geraldine Polly Bednash Scholarship to support top-achieving students pursuing bachelors or graduate degrees in nursing.

AACN is recognized by the federal government for setting national standards, conducting research projects, maintaining the database, and funding nursing students. The Geraldine Polly Bednash Scholarship is worth $5,000 awarded to at least one recipient per round. The award is awarded four times a year.

Applicants must maintain at least a GPA of 3.2. They must be admitted or enrolled at an AACN member institution. Applicants are also allowed the option of submitting their application to a nursing school through NursingCAS. Within one month from the deadline, winner(s) are notified and shortly after announced on AACN digital platforms.

Key Information of Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship

Study Details

Area of Study


Country of Study

United States

Specific Schools

AACN-CastleBranch Schools

Scholarship Details

Intended Level of Study

  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate

Award Amount


Number of Awards


Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship Timeline

November 2022

Application Opening Date

Applications open in November.

January 2023

First Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is on January 31.

February 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced in February.

April 2023

Second Submission Deadline

The second Submission deadline is on April 30.

May 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced in May.

July 2023

Third Submission Deadline

The third Submission deadline is on July 31.

August 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced in August.

October 2023

Fourth Submission Deadline

The fourth Submission deadline is on October 31.

November 2023

Awards Announcement Date

Winners are announced in November.

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the following criteria.

  • Eligible Grade: Undergraduate
  • Maximum Age: Any
  • Required GPA: 3.2
  • Geographic Eligibility: United States
  • Gender: Any
  • Race/Ethnicity: Any

Application Requirements

Here’s what you need to submits besides your application.

  • Grade transcript
  • Essay

How to ace the Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship


Maintaining academic credentials

This scholarship is for brilliant students in nursing so maintaining your past and current academic credentials is very important. If you still have a few months left before the submission you should focus on improving your academic grades.


maintain professionalism

This is a highly competitive scholarship and applicants must exhibit a strong professional character. Review your submission for any careless mistakes like spelling errors, grammatical errors, or typos before submission.


Highlight your academic projects

Mention the academic projects undertaken by you independently or in teams. You should give the details of project objectives, your ideas, and implementation results.


Career objectives and academic achievements

You should be able to prove how your academic pursuits will help you to plan your future career choices. A clear and transparent goal-setting will impress the panel of judges on your ability to focus and succeed in the future.

How the Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship is Judged

The panel of judges will select the winners based on their academic credentials, essay, leadership qualities, research initiatives, and teaching interests in the field of nursing.

Why We Love the Geraldine “Polly’ Bednash Scholarship


Creating nurses for the national health

The scholarship is a great way to create extraordinary nurses for the nation. The young students of today will be motivated to be the subject experts tomorrow.


Completing academic courses

The scholarship funds will help nursing students complete their courses before joining the competitive job market.


Making the community healthy and safe

The organizer’s effort to promote this noble profession will help the community to stay healthy and safe.

5 Facts About Geraldine “Poly” Bednash Scholarship


Nurse certification

The organizers AACN, established in 1969 with 121 member institutions, now has 850 member institutions. AACN is the United States' official agency to give the Commission Nurse Certification.


Participating 10 years in surveys

The winners of this scholarship have to participate for a minimum of 10 years in the surveys conducted by CastleBranch.


Length Of essay

The length of the essay required to be submitted is a maximum of 250 words.


Minimum GPA

The minimum GPA for eligibility to apply is 3.2.


AACN News Week

The names of the winners are published in the AACN News Week letter.

Evelyn Paige Parker Scholarship

The Poise Foundation offers the Evelyn Paige Parker Scholarship to students enrolled in nursing schools in the U.S. Applicants must have completed at least one year at a nursing school.

Scholarships awarded
2 winners
Required GPA
May 15

Yoost & Crawford Fundamentals of Nursing Scholarship

Kent State University annually awards the Yoost & Crawford Fundamentals of Nursing Scholarship of $500 to a qualified nursing student demonstrating academic excellence in their junior year at the College of Nursing.

Scholarships awarded
1 winner
Required GPA
December 31